Andover Teacher's Seminary and St. Francis Seminary: Difference between pages

From Andover Answers
(Difference between pages)
Jump to navigation Jump to search
No edit summary
 
No edit summary
 
Line 1: Line 1:
The Andover Teacher's Seminary was established using an unrestricted bequest from William Phillips II. A progressive institution for it's time, it was only the second teacher training program in the United States. It featured chemistry and physics laboratories and a library of 805 volumes.  
Dedicated in November of 1930, The St. Francis Seraphic Seminary, a Catholic school to train boys for the priesthood, was built at 459 River Road near the Tewksbury line. The seminary was closed in 1977The building then became part of the Franciscan Retreat and Conference Center. The Seminary building was razed in October 2016 to make way for a privately developed 55+ residential retirement community "Riverside Woods." The Town agreement with the site developer called for preserving a section of land along the river as open space. Access to the AVIS and town-owned trail systems as well as a parking are for hikers was planned.
[[Image:stfrancis.jpg|200px|thumb|right|St Francis Seminary With Christmas Lights - A popular holiday sight form the mid-1930's to the mid-1960's
''Andover Townsman'', December 25, 2014, page 14]]
 
'''See'''
----
 
* "St. Francis Seminary Lights Drew Thousands of Onlookers,"'' Andover Townsman'', December 18, 2008.
 
*[http://www.andovertownsman.com/local/x528363060/Elderly-housing-proposal-considered-for-River-Road/print Elderly Housing Proposal Considered for River Road, Franciscan Center Land. ] ''Andover Townsman'' May 12, 2011
 
* [https://preservation.mhl.org/439-river-rd 459 River Road, Andover Historic Preservation Profile.]
*[https://www.newburyportnews.com/news/regional_news/iconic-seminary-in-andover-torn-down/article_3a85a149-5da6-56cc-a6ab-713fdfb49630.html Iconic Seminary in Andover Town Down] ''Newburyport News'' October 26, 2016
*[[Media:200UnitPlanEagleTribune5_31_2015.pdf|200 Unit Plan for River Road in Andover]] ''Eagle Tribune,'' May 31, 2015
 
 


Samuel Read Hall, the first principal, is credited with developing respected educational philosophies, as well as inventing the first blackboard and eraser.


Frederick Law Olmstead was a student here.


Due to lack of continuing funding the school closed its doors in 1842.


[[Image:andoverteachers.jpg|200px|thumb|left|Andover Teacher's Seminary.]]




See <br>
*"The preacher behind Andover Teachers Seminar," ''Andover Townsman'', April 9, 2015, p. 15.
*"Andover Teachers Seminary: A Short-Lived Lesson Ahead of its Time. Andover Townsman, March 2, 2015, page 19.




<br style="clear:both;" />
<br style="clear:both;" />


--[[User:Eleanor|Eleanor]] ([[User talk:Eleanor|talk]]) 14:33, 12 February 2016 (EST)
--[[User:Stephanie|Stephanie]] ([[User talk:Stephanie|talk]]) 11:13, 6 July 2021 (EDT)
 
--[[User:Eleanor|Eleanor]] 15:53, August 17, 2011 (EDT)<br>
--[[User:Leslie|Leslie]] 16:23, July 31, 2012 (EDT)<br>
--[[User:Eleanor|Eleanor]] ([[User talk:Eleanor|talk]]) 15:33, 22 January 2016 (EST)


back to [[Main Page|Main Page]]
back to [[Main Page|Main Page]]
[[Category:Andover Answers Index]]
[[Category:Andover Answers Index]]

Revision as of 11:40, 6 July 2021

Dedicated in November of 1930, The St. Francis Seraphic Seminary, a Catholic school to train boys for the priesthood, was built at 459 River Road near the Tewksbury line. The seminary was closed in 1977. The building then became part of the Franciscan Retreat and Conference Center. The Seminary building was razed in October 2016 to make way for a privately developed 55+ residential retirement community "Riverside Woods." The Town agreement with the site developer called for preserving a section of land along the river as open space. Access to the AVIS and town-owned trail systems as well as a parking are for hikers was planned.

St Francis Seminary With Christmas Lights - A popular holiday sight form the mid-1930's to the mid-1960's Andover Townsman, December 25, 2014, page 14

See


  • "St. Francis Seminary Lights Drew Thousands of Onlookers," Andover Townsman, December 18, 2008.







--Stephanie (talk) 11:13, 6 July 2021 (EDT)

--Eleanor 15:53, August 17, 2011 (EDT)
--Leslie 16:23, July 31, 2012 (EDT)
--Eleanor (talk) 15:33, 22 January 2016 (EST)

back to Main Page