Andover Historic Preservation


187 ANDOVER ST187 andover st (click to enlarge)

187 ANDOVER ST

architectural description

NRDIS NRMRA LHD
Picturesque

historical narrative

Original owner: Patrick Scott

First Ballardvale post office was in railroad station. Charles Marland was station agent who also acted as village post-master. Post office moved later to "Shattuck's Drug Store, Bruce's Store" at this site.

Family home of the Patrick Scott family for generations. The first floor stores were first owned by Mr. Scott. From 1920 to 1930, a store owned by Fred L. Buckley.

1930 - Frederick Wrigley owned store next. After his death, Dorothy W. Wrigley, his wife, took over business. After the election of Franklin Roosevelt, and a new administration, the Post Office was moved from the Community Bldg. to this site. Richard O'Brien and Beatrice (Scott) O'Brien moved into the Scott home and he became the Post Master. The former store owners did not live on the premises.

bibliography/references

Lawrence Eagle Tribune, Jan. 31, 1950
Andover Historical Society files.
Street lists.

inventory data

Table: Inventory Data for 187 ANDOVER ST
Place: Ballardvale
Historic District: Ballardvale Local Historic District
Address: 187 andover st
Historic Name: U. S. Post Office - Ballardvale Branch
Present Use: U.S.P.O. below, residence above
Original Use:
Date of Construction: 1860-70
Source: style - njs
Style/Form: Italianate
Architect/Builder:
Foundation:
Wall/Trim: clapboards
Roof:
Outbuildings / Secondary Structures
Major Alterations:
Condition:
Moved:
Demolished:
Acreage: Approx. distance of bldg. from street 5'
Setting:
MHC inventory number: ANV.30
Recorded by: Stack/Mofford
Organization: Andover Historical Commission
Date: 1975-77/updated 1993

other historic buildings



 
Andover Preservation Commission logo
 
Andover Historical Society logo
 
Memorial Hall Library logo